⚙️ 5.2a Additional Membership Settings
Memberships are now called Plans. You'll find them under the Plans tab in your dashboard. A plan can be a Membership or a Class Pack, and the settings in this article apply to both.
On top of the default plan offerings, we have a new selection of features to further expand the services you can offer to your community members.
Appointments
Plans can be applied to appointments as well. It works the same way it does for other experience types: You can set up booking limits when configuring your plan settings, and members will be able to access your appointments with benefits depending on your plan settings.
For more, see: 📝 3.6 1:1 Appointments
Shared Plans
With this option enabled, you can give your active plan holders the option to share their booking benefits with other users. Using this, you can create family or group plans tailored around sharing access to the plan.
For more, see: ⚙️ 5.2 Creating & Configuring Memberships
Guest Passes
Unlike shared plans, the purpose of Guest Passes is to let your active plan holders invite their friends and partners to visit one of your experiences for free as a trial.
If enabled and within creating/editing a plan, you can set:
- Guest passes allowed per membership cycle: This determines how many passes your plan holders can send to their friends. This limit is reset when the plan is renewed, if it's a recurring plan.
- Eligible experiences: With this option, you can select which of your experiences are eligible for sharing via the Guest Pass system. If you use the Include all experiences toggle, all of your available experiences will be eligible for sharing.
- Guest eligibility: Here you can choose between two different settings - First-time visitors only and Anyone.
- First-time visitors only: Only users that never received a Guest Pass for your community will be able to receive a pass from the plan holder.
- Anyone: The holder can send a pass to anyone, even if they already received a pass for the experience previously.
Please note: Guest passes are in beta and not available for all communities.
Minimum Commitment Period
Use a Minimum Commitment Period to require members to stay enrolled for a set amount of time before they can cancel their plan.
For example: If a plan has a 3-month minimum commitment, the member must complete 3 months of billing before they are eligible to cancel.
This setting controls when a member can cancel. It does not control the cancellation method. Once the commitment period has ended, the member can follow the cancellation flow based on the plan’s cancellation policy.
For more, see: ⚙️ 5.2 Creating & Configuring Memberships
Best Practices
Plans with a minimum commitment period have a disclaimer for members at check-out, however, it may be helpful to add acknowledgement of this policy as part of your intake or the plan description.
For example:
"I acknowledge and agree to the 3-month minimum commitment for this plan."
Send Plan
In instances where you want to send a plan to a member (whether a comped plan or simply a link to complete enrollment remotely), use the Send Plan feature.
- Open dashboard.sweatpals.com
- Select the Plans tab
- Click the Send Plan button
- Enter in the member's details
- Select whether you are sending the plan for No charge, Free for a period, or requesting Full payment
- The member will receive an email invite to accept the plan & complete missing details (e.g. payment method)
Managing Cancellation Policies for Plans
A Cancellation Policy controls how members cancel their plan. This is separate from the Minimum Commitment Period, which controls when a member becomes eligible to cancel.
Cancellation options
Depending on the plan settings, members may be able to:
- Self-cancel: cancel the plan directly.
- Request to cancel: submit a cancellation request for the host to review.
For more, see: ⚙️ 5.2 Creating & Configuring Memberships
How members self-cancel
Cancelling an active plan within the Sweatpals app:
- Select the Passes tab
- Toggle to Memberships
- Select the desired plan
- Select Manage
- Follow steps to cancel Membership (either self-cancel or request to cancel)
Cancelling an active plan within the Sweatpals on web:
- Visit attendee.sweatpals.com
- Toggle to Memberships
- Select the desired plan
- Select Manage
- Follow steps to cancel Membership (either self-cancel or request to cancel)
For more, see: ⚙️ 6.1 Managing Your Account
What happens after cancellation
- For recurring plans, access will continue until the end of the current billing period.
- Canceling after a renewal date does not automatically refund the charge. Refunds depend on the host’s policy.
For more, see: 👥 5.3 Managing Active Members 👥 5.3 Managing Active Members
Visual Guide